Summer Garden Line-Up and Sage Blossoms

IMG_3166

The garden is all set for summer! I spent a hot and sunny Sunday afternoon building trellises and planting seedlings in all six beds.

IMG_3151Starting at the compost bin and moving along the fence, we have beds 1-3. Bed 4 has some herbs already in it, and then 5 and 6 moving to the foreground. Here’s what I planted…IMG_3160Bed 1: Nightshade Family

  •  Tomatoes (Early Girl, Cherokee Purple, and Yellow Pear Cherry)
  • Peppers (Better Belle and Chocolate)

Frank and I built two trellises using vinyl coated welded wire fencing attached with zip ties to 4 ft. steel posts. These are fairly inexpensive and easy to make, and create a sturdy, reusable trellis. As the tomatoes grow taller I will tie the stems to the fencing with string. I still have a bit of space left in this bed and will probably consider planting more peppers.

Bed 2: Gourd Family

  • Georgia Rattlesnake Watermelon
  • Athena Muskmelon

IMG_3163Bed 3: Mallow and Nightshades

  • 4 Clemson Spineless Okra
  • 4 Little Fingers Eggplant

IMG_3158Bed 4: Gourd Family

  • Zucchini and Yellow Crookneck Squash

Bed 5: Gourd Family

  • 3 pickling cucumber plants, hopefully these will make some nice pickles later!

For this bed we also built a trellis to train the cukes onto.

IMG_3165

Bed 6: Herbs and Hot Peppers

The rosemary, thyme, lavender, sage, and mint all weathered the winter very well and are growing like mad. Eventually I plan to transplant these perennial herbs out of the beds and to the side of the house to free up space, but most likely will not do that until fall. For the summer I added cilantro, basil, thai basil, and dill. And finally I have ancho chile, thai chili, jalapeno, and havasu pepper plants in this bed.

Once everything was in the ground, I finished with watering and pest control.

IMG_3167

This year the sage bloomed with beautiful purple blossoms – a first in my experience. I think in the past my sage just didn’t survive the winter or I cut it down to prevent flowering, however I love these blooms and have cut several to keep in a vase. And they smell great! Sometimes letting herbs bolt and flower is a bad idea – the plant will go to seed and then die. Basil and Thai basil are herbs in particular to watch. However while the flowering stems on my sage plant will wither and need to be cut away, new green stems are already forming underneath.

IMG_3164

Will update soon with new garden growth and further notes on pest control!

Leave a Reply

